Leadership and Communication

My philosophy of leadership and communication is that I am a steward and servant in my Father’s kingdom; therefore everything I do should represent Him.  I take seriously Jesus’ model of continually saying that His purpose was to glorify the Father.  Yes, my philosophy of leadership and communication are linked.  My leadership model includes a clear framework for achieving goals and objectives, adaptation to specific individuals and a willingness to accept responsibility for decisions and outcome with no excuses.  In communication, I value the concept of dialogue and what I call “rough draft” conversations where I openly reserve the right to erase something and do a verbal rewrite.  Communication has a lot to do with listening well and interacting with no preset agenda.  I find tremendous value in simply listening.  People need to know, “I see you.”  It establishes relationship which then opens the door to further exploring the compatibility of the interaction.  Effective communication uncovers issues and exposes conflicts and incorporates the energy of those into moving forward.  Leadership sets the limits on how much conflict is tolerable and takes responsibility for implementing Plan B, C, and D if needed (or more).

One of the key communication tools that I learned from Jesus is answering a question with a question.  When the Pharisees came to ask Jesus if he should pay taxes, Jesus answered with a question about the coin that might be used to pay the taxes.  Life has taught me that the Bible is not a book of answers but a book of questions.  Questions invite relationship.  God, as the ultimate leader, uses questions to invite us to go deeper into our relationship with Him.  “Is any thing too hard for the Lord (Genesis 18:14)?”  The very presence of a question activates a thinking process.  Leaders are responsible for engaging their team and for providing opportunity for their lives to be enriched.  Leaders are stewards of people and resources.  Being a good steward was man’s original purpose which means to take what God has given and make it better.  Good stewards of nature are constantly on the watch for anything that hinders growth, e.g. weeds, varmints, etc.   Above all, my model for leadership and communication is found in Solomon’s prayer, “Give therefore thy servant an understanding heart to judge thy people, that I may discern between good and bad: for who is able to judge this thy so great a people (I Kings 3:9)?”

Lkone49kw

“He that is mighty has done to me great things; holy is his name (Luke 1:49).”

Lkone49 = Luke 1:49 (plus my initials)

KW

About Dr. Kathy Williams

I am an adjunct faculty member at Harrison Business College. I am a full-time Chaplain in a men's correctional facility. I am the founder of New Day Community Ministries, Inc. and the most recent venture with New Day Consulting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leadership and Communication

  1. Pingback: Leadership and Communication | lkone49kw

  2. Chris Holdorf says:

    Kathy:
    I particularly like what you say about listening. Listening might be the hardest part of communication and it is definitely a skill that we all should continue developing.

    Blessings,
    Chris Holdorf

    • lkone49kw says:

      Chris, I don’t think that we ever master listening. If I may take our comment a step further, it is a skill that takes continual development. One reason I say that is that as technology evolves and society expands, our listening skills from a time past become inadequate to meet present communication.

Leave a Reply

