24K Leadership

The reason this blog is named 24K leadership is partly because I have spent my life clarifying my name.  When asked what my name is, and I respond Kathy, I inevitably get, “Is that with a C or a K.” Another piece of the blog name is that 24K gold is pure gold which means it has been refined by fire.  Whenever I am speaking, I say, “I am not standing here because of my history of successes but because of my countless failures that I’ve learned to turn into experience.”  The leadership part of the title is my commitment to be a blessing to others by sharing my stories of God putting me through the fire to refine me. My educational journey has been a supplement to my life journey. From a high school dropout to earning a doctoral degree at the age of 62, I like to say, “The journey has been rugged but the scenery has been memorable.” 

24K Leadership Thought –

I remember when President Barack Obama first took office and there was a lot of focus on how much he values his time with family. I have often wondered what it was like for him the first time that he had to approve airstrikes that he knew would take lives, yet when he sat down to dinner with his daughters that night, he asked, “How was school today.” Leadership often carries a paradox of responsibilities. We are all responsible for information that we cannot share and yet we have to mix that with asking others, “How was school today.” 

As leaders who are Christians we must have an internal sense of balance. It comes from bringing the principles of the scripture into our lives so that we remain humble and consistently recognize that the only way we can do all things is through Christ (Philippians 4:13).

About Dr. Kathy Williams

I am an adjunct faculty member at Harrison Business College. I am a full-time Chaplain in a men's correctional facility. I am the founder of New Day Community Ministries, Inc. and the most recent venture with New Day Consulting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

