There is only one of me

There is only one of me seems such a simple statement and one that few people need.  Most of us know about having a unique fingerprint and every snowflake having its own design.  The concept of identity could fill libraries.  The “me” factor is everywhere; however, if we remove the rest of the world, do you actually get it?  Do you know that there is only one of you?  What keeps you from embracing the simplicity and complexity of saying, “There is only one of me.”  Trust me, that this is going to be a positive conversation.  While we are surrounded by identity messages, we are also surrounded by the notion of comparison.  We need to be smarter, taller, faster, skinnier, brighter, prettier, funnier, braver, wealthier, and on and on into the oblivion of being either -er or -ier than someone else.  Isn’t it a bit comical that the same -er is used as a form of comparison between two or more but is also used as a word when you don’t know what to say?  Trying to find the definition of -ier results in the direction to look up -er.  Our first conjecture is that comparison leads to competition and, most likely, unnecessarily so for the good of those being compared.  “Your brother is smarter than you.”  “Your sister is funnier than you.” Who told parents that the way to inspire one child is to use the other child(ren) as fuel for the comparison fire?  I am certain that a psychologist could analyze what I have written thus far and charge me $75 per session for the next six months.  Rather than pay that fee, let’s you and I dig into this further.   What is the end goal?  The end goal is that you and I smile when we hear the phrase, “There is only one of me.”  The end goal is internal peace and a sense of satisfaction with the recognition that there absolutely, totally, unequivocally is only one of me.  By the way, did you know that the suffix -ly means a dispersed state?  Great!  That means that who we are spreads all over the place!  There is hope and ambition for the “one of me” movement!

About Dr. Kathy Williams

I am an adjunct faculty member at Harrison Business College. I am a full-time Chaplain in a men's correctional facility. I am the founder of New Day Community Ministries, Inc. and the most recent venture with New Day Consulting.
This entry was posted in Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

